Register Now

55th annual - AMICA CONVENTION
BLACK HILLS - South Dakota
June 3 - 8, 2018

          Encyclopedia of Disc Music Boxes 1881 - 1920
       A History,
          Catalog Raisonné,
                and Appreciation.
                    By Q. David Bowers
       An AMICA-International Publication

Leo Ornstein Literary Award

Presented for contributing in some way in a literary effort to further and promote the goals of AMICA - either by contributions to the Bulletin or by independent books, articles, etc. The contributions must have been made in the past two years. 

Past Winners

2004: Mike Barnhart - for his AMICA bulletin article "Mechanical Music Instrument Computer Interface" that was serially printed in three issues of the bulletin. It detailed the process of taking a Seeburg MO, and with the help of computer technology, making it sound like a large Weber Orchestrion.

2003: Rob Bopp - primarily for his work as editor of the book "The Carousel Organ", and also for his contributions to the AMICA Bulletin over the years.

2002: Bob & Ginny Billings

2001: (None this year)

2000: Denis Hall

1999: Jeffery Morgan

1998: Robin Pratt - For literary contributions to further and promote the goals of AMICA through service as AMICA publisher.

1997: David Saul - For writing the first technical article for the AMICA Bulletin, writing much of the reproducing piano section of "The Encyclopedia of Mechanical Musical Instruments", and work rebuilding instruments and research in the field. 

1996: Harvey & Marion Roehl - For publishing material vital to the restoration and historic appreciation of the hobby, producing music tapes, and working at conventions and meeting.

1995: Bob & Ginny Billings - For compiling and publishing information on Recordo and QRS rolls, and Ginny's work as Secretary and Bulletin editor.

1994: Richard J. Howe - For contributions to "Welte-Mignon: Its music and Musicians" and contributions to the Bulletin.

1993: Art Reblitz - For his books "Player Piano Servicing and Rebuilding" and "Piano Servicing, Tuning and Rebuilding"

1992: (no award presented)

1991: Emmett M. Ford - For major contributions to the Bulletin



©2018 AMICA International
Automatic Musical Instrument Collectors' Association,
a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization.

Page last Updated: Monday, January 15, 2018 08:09 AM

 Visitors & their Locations on this page since 10/5/14
 Flag Counter

All third-party materials have been used with the assumed owner's permission, however if you claim copyright on materials here and you wish them removed please contact the Website Manager on the Contact page. If I don't know you I'll ask you to supply proof of ownership (a notarized copyright registration certificate will be your best bet).  If your claim is valid and verified then the materials will be removed immediately.

All information on this Site is provided "as is", with no guarantee of completeness, accuracy or timeliness and without any warranty whatsoever, expressor limited.  In no event will the AMICA, its officers, committee members, members, employees or agents be liable to you or anyone else for any decision made or action taken in reliance on the information on this Site or for any damages resulting, directly or indirectly, from the use of any of the contractors listed on this Site, including for any consequential, special or similar damages.